Musings, love and laughter from the other side

Okay, after hearing so much about the movie What the Bleep Do We Know!?, I decided to add it to my Netflix queue. I finally watched it last weekend.

Personally, after watching it, I don’t understand what all the hype is about. As a movie, I thought it was pretty awful. It reminded me of an ABC After School Special on acid. The best part of the movie, for me anyway, were the visual effects. Otherwise, I really didn’t care for it at all. The thing that really torqued me off about the movie, though, was that the identities and credentials of the “experts” who were quoted throughout the movie weren’t revealed until the very end. One of the “experts” is J. Z. Knight, who claims to be channeling Ramtha, a 35,000 year old spirit-warrior who lived among the lizard people at Atlantis. Pretty much everyone associated with the movie, including the “experts” are all somehow affiliated with J. Z. Knight’s “Ramtha School of Enlightenment”, and one “expert” is actually a chiropractor.

It didn’t move me to do anything other than return the DVD to Netflix. Then again, what the bleep do I know!?

Comments on: "What the Bleep Do I Know!?" (5)

  1. Thanks so much for this review! I haven’t seen it yet, but until now all I heard was good things! How can anyone be an expert in the unknown … yeeesh!!

    Happy St. Patricks Day!

  2. I saw it; my husband thought it was great and recommends it to everyone. Me, I’m a bit more ambivalent. I gues it depends on your outlook. If you think you are the creator of everything, then it’ll probably resonate more with you. As for me, I understand the principle of manifestation, but I also have a very clear realization that God created me and the universe and I’m not some huge force that has huge affects on it. I’m more like a pebble someone drops into a pond. THe ripples from me might reach a lot of people, but not directly, and unless you’re the fish swimming directly underneath the spot where I’m dropped in and get clonked on the head, you won’t necessarily havea big idea about the big thing I did in your life.

    Bravo for an honest review.

  3. You know, acid really did make those After School Specials more watchable…

  4. Although I appreciate the humor, this review seems to have missed the point, and it’s a bit misleading.

    The movie is a showcase of theories and possibilities and things to ponder, but no one was claiming to be an expert in any way, beyond their personal experiences with the subject. Even the scientists and physicists and psychologist were not labeled as experts, except in terms of their position within their own field of study.

    The reason the channeling part was played down is because this was not meant as a promotional stunt for JZ’s school… which I found to be very tastefully subdued so as not to be proselytizing something beyond the fantastic concepts being explored in metaphysics and physics at this time.

    I just liked the idea of people putting a great amount of effort into sharing something that was presented as something just to think about… but that could really make a difference if we find that it is empirically true.

    Troy aka CocteauBoy

  5. But the chiropractor talked about quantum physics, which last time I checked, was not a proper part of the purview of chiropractic medicine! Or maybe I’m not remembering what he talked about. Here’s what I do remember from watching it once, in the theater, 3 years ago or something.

    Works better as a comedy.

    Ramtha opened her mouth a lot, made noise, but never said anything.

    The fictional part of the story was soooooooooo awful. No character development = no interest, no belief.

    One big message was “Excessive booze is good!” (as it led to Marlee Matlin’s breakthrough into the liberating quantum reality) but “Prescribed pharmaceuticals are bad!” (as a climactic scene near the end shows Marlee expressing her liberation by throwing away her anxiety pills).

Leave a Reply

